Getting Ready to Go Back to Work: Storing Frozen Breastmilk

I will be getting back to work in a month’s time.  That means I will be away from baby for hours on end.   Exclusive direct feeding is no longer an option.  Time to start storing some liquid gold.

breast pumpelectric breast pumpExpressing breast milk is not something new to me as I have been pumping milk with my second child.  I found manual breast pump most efficient for me.  I particularly like Avent.  Purchasing breast pumps locally is pretty expensive, with items retailing at double to 3x the prices in the U.S.  Good thing hubby went to  Chicago last August and we were able to purchase all baby products online (thank you Amazon Prime trial period).  In addition to manual pump, I also purchased electric double pump which I plan to use in the office, to save time.  For travel and home use, the manual pump is the champ.  It is compact and very effective in extracting milk.

Properly storing breast milk is very important in order to preserve its nutritional value.  Of course, fresh milk is best.  However, I would like to store as much milk as I can so that when I no longer have milk, I can continue providing baby my breast milk.  If done correctly, frozen milk can last up to one year!

LLLI Storage Guidelines

Best Ways to Store Breast Milk

Tips for Storing Breast Milk

Frugal Way of Storing Milk

Freezing breast milk is a breeze.  But it can get pretty expensive, even if you use those pre-sterilized breastmilk storage bags.  I initially used Lansinoh storage bags.  They’re really good:  thick and has double zip locks that seals the milk in.  It costs around $0.14 per bag.  Pretty reasonable, right?  Actually, it can be pretty expensive considering that I may be storing hundreds and hundreds of bags (fingers crossed) for the next two years.

An alternative, one which I actually prefer, is to buy nursing liners and seal the bag with a heavy duty sealer.  It costs way much cheaper at around $0.07 per bag.  I bought mine cheaper because of a sale.

Saving Space

Initially, I was not space conscious, so I simply sealed the bags and put them in the freezer.  As the milk accumulates, however, I realized I need to store the milk efficiently so they can all fit in the freezer.

Best way to save space is to squeeze excess air from the bags and lay them flat to freeze.  This will prevent bags from bulging, which makes stacking difficult.  Once the milk is frozen, stack the bags neatly into a single pile.  This is also a great way to ship breast milk since stacked frozen milk stays frozen longer.

IMG_0386

Leave a Reply

