Natarajasana or Lord of the Dance Pose

The name comes from the Sanskrit words nata meaning “dancer”, raja meaning “king”, and asana meaning “posture’.  Nataraja is one of the names given to the Hindu god Shiva in his form as the cosmic dance.

This pose has always fascinated me because it represents events that may, at first, glance, be catastrophic.  Yet, just like the Shiva the destroyer, these events may simply be a process of elimination to pave the way for new creation.  For me, this asana represents new hope, new beginnings.  The backbend creates energy, while there is need for strength and balance to keep the dance alive.

Now in my 34th week, I no longer practice this pose as I find it harder and harder to find my center.  Balancing is so hard at this stage.  I feel clumsy, heavy, and generally low in energy.  Further, legs are weakened by lack of exercise and my hips a little bit loose from all those hormones.

Recently, however, I discovered that I can still do this pose and feel great afterwards, since it also stretches the front body and arms.  Indeed, one should not stop doing something just because of pre-conceived notion that you cannot do it.

Namaste.

One thought on “Natarajasana or Lord of the Dance Pose

Leave a Reply

