My Love-Hate Relationship with Hip Openers

When I started my regular yoga practice two years ago, my hips were so stiff that I was wondering how my classmates could easily cross their ankle against the opposite leg, bend forward and squat. I could hardly cross the my ankle, let alone bend forward or squat!  Today, I tried the flying pigeon in my home practice.  My hips are still fairly inflexible, but it has gone a long way from where I started.

Of course, my version of the flying pigeon is more of a falling pigeon as I still have to work on my core and arm strength to lift off and balance.

Hip openers are my nemesis but I persisted in practicing them because I know I need them the most.  Yin yoga has greatly helped me in this journey.  Below are some videos from Ekhart Yoga featuring some of my favorite (and hated!) hip opening poses:

Believe me, if you’re like me, these poses are simply torture.  It takes a lot of concentration and effort to be able to keep still and relax.  But all those hard work is slowly paying off and the release is simply indescribable.  Try it!

Leave a Reply

