Moving Beyond Asanas

Just a couple of months ago, I wrote in Getting to Know Yourself that asanas play the only role in my practice.  But after reading Iyengar’s Light on Life, I started to gain a better understanding about the other limbs of yoga.

As I explore my yin practice further, I noticed how setting intentions and focusing on these intentions helped me act more kindly and compassionately towards others.  Sure, I can still be quick-tempered and impatient.  However, I noticed how more mindful I am about these negative emotions and how my practice allows me to just observe them without attachment, without judgment.  As a result, I noticed how easily I can let go of  these negative emotions.

For this month’s practice, I set my intention to kindness.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

