Climbing the Steps of Sigiriya

Climbing up 1,202 steps (according to the tour guide) up to the peak of the fortress under the scorching heat of the sun is a serious matter.  The steps were a combination of the original steps made from limestones and the more-recently added steel staircases.

 

I thought I was physically fit.  But I was literally breathless by the time I reached the top.  It is amazing that some tourists bring along their kids (including toddlers!).

Some tips when you plan to climb:

  • Put on sunscreen to protect yourself from the harmful rays of the sun.  I used spf 100 for my arms, 50 spf for the face (wish it were higher though).
  • Don’t forget to bring water.  You will need lots.  Even just sitting down, the heat will dehydrate you.
  • Bring a towel and extra shirt.  I guarantee, you will sweat.  A LOT.  I could literally feel my sweat washing off my sunblock lotion.  I made a mistake of not bringing something to wipe myself with.
  • Don’t forget to smile.  It will make you feel less tired.

Travel tales of a yogini.  Sri Lanka Edition.

2 thoughts on “Climbing the Steps of Sigiriya

  1. Pingback: Ruins of an Ancient City | Travel Tales of a Yogini

Leave a Reply

