Yoga Focus of the Month: Core is Power

In asana practice, core strength is needed to get into poses properly, as well as to prevent injury, particularly to the lower back.  For the past two weeks, I have been working on my core and I can feel a lot of improvement in my vinyasas and arm balances.  Here’s a short sequence from Yoga Journal to Go by Kathryn Budig, one of my favorite online teachers.

Perhaps once I have built enough strength, I would be able to follow Jesse Schein’s Intense Yoga Core workout!

Indeed, these workouts are not easy.  And I have yet to learn how to enjoy these sequences.  Slowly getting there, but it’s not an easy journey, especially when holding a pose when my abs are simply burning!  All worth the effort, though, as I feel stronger in my asanas.  And my tummy is actually trimmer!

Namaste.

 

 

Leave a Reply

