Getting to Know Yourself by Esther Ekhart

Getting to Know Yourself

I love this article by Esther where she shares what yoga means to her.  I do not necessarily understand or practice the other aspects of yoga (besides asanas) but the journey of the self is something universal and one which I  am open to.

What I love about Esther is that she is non-judgmental and wants to share yoga with absolutely ANYbody.  “I don’t think there is anything wrong with the (just) physical aspect of yoga, it seems to make yoga accessible to people. You gain strength, feel empowered because of it, you’ll feel good and relaxed after, the mind may even stop racing so a certain peace also arrives on the doorstep. All good right?”

Indeed, all good.  Yoga is a journey.  Personally, I am still at this stage where asana plays the only role in my practice.  But Esther is right, asanas make yoga accessible to people.  And when I am ready, perhaps, I can transition into the other aspects of yoga.  It’s all about the journey and accepting where you are at this moment.  Whether it’s acknowledging that your body is not ready for certain asanas (read:  handstand, lotus pose, headstand) or your mind not open for meditation, all is good.

Namaste.

20131101_160418

One thought on “Getting to Know Yourself by Esther Ekhart

  1. Pingback: Moving Beyond Asanas | My Green Juice

Leave a Reply

