Yoga Studio: Urban Ashram Manila

In my article 5 Things to Consider When Choosing a Yoga Studio, I indicated that I would start visiting yoga studios and post reviews.  Well, after availing of a 40-day unlimited yoga promo, I am now ready to write something about Urban Ahsram Manila.  So here’s my review based on the 5 factors I mentioned in my previous article:

  1. Location, location, location.  The closest studio is the High Street branch, some 30-45 minutes away from our house.  Unfortunately, it’s not close enough my office, so I can only visit during the weekends.  Urban Ashram Manila also has other branches in Brixton and Makati.
  2. Class Schedule.  Fortunately, the studio offers enough classes during the weekends.  I love the 4:30 p.m. slot the best.
  3. Classes Offered.  The studio offers a variety of classes, from Flexibility Not Required (FNR) to the more challenging Vinyasa.  The studio also offers workshops and certification training from world-renowned instructors like Jason Crandell.   Which is really cool.  Unfortunately, there’s no Ashtanga nor hot yoga.  See here for the complete list. I have tried FNR, Hatha, and Vinyasa.   I like the Vinyasa class when I feel strong; but when I am low in energy, I opt to attend FNR and Hatha.  The best class, for me, though, is the Kids Yoga, as shown by how my two-year old enjoyed her first class:

My twelve-year old daughter also loves the classes and looks forward to it every Saturday.

4.  Instructors.  The instructors are certified.  They are excellent in giving precise instructions and paying particular attention to alignment.  If you want to have some kick-ass work-out, try Marc Macadaeg’s Vinyasa class.  His instructions are clear and he is quite strict in making sure we are properly aligned.  He also gives options, which is good for me since I can’t do the fancy advanced poses yet.  Aika Rodriguez is also another favorite.  I’ve attended several of her FNR classes and she also provides clear instructions and options.  Don’t be fooled by her sweet demeanor, though, as she weaves enough difficult poses into her class that makes it challenging but fulfilling.

5.  Rates. The rates are reasonable.  I was fortunate to get a discounted 40-day unlimited package which was cheaper than my monthly membership at a gym.  The studio offers various packages from drop-in to unlimited yoga.

Overall, I had a very pleasant experience with Urban Ashrram Manila.  The classes provided me an opportunity to deepen my practice.  The High Street studio has two practice rooms.  It also offers modern, fully-air-conditioned changing rooms with showers, locker facilities and other amenities. They also provide the mats, although I find them a little slippery. All cleaning materials, soaps and detergents, as well as shower amenities are earth-friendly, non-toxic and biodegradable.  Its reception area is spacious and has a calm ambience.  All Things Yoga Boutique also offers yoga products.  I have purchased various items like shirts, leggings, lotion, straps, bolster and topical pain reliever.  

I would recommend Urban Ashram Manila to those looking for a good yoga studio.  Especially if you also want to introduce yoga to your kids.  Read:  Top 3 Reasons to Introduce Yoga to Your Kids.  Oh, and did I mention they also have fertility, pre-natal and post-natal classes?  This studio is geared towards promoting yoga to all members of the family, regardless of age and condition.  Love it!

Credit for Pictures below:  www.urbanashrammanila.com

For more information, visit its website at www.urbanashrammanila.com

One thought on “Yoga Studio: Urban Ashram Manila

  1. Pingback: Yoga Studio: Beyond Yoga | My Green Juice

Leave a Reply

