Setting Intentions for 2014: Declutter our Home

I have read (or heard) somewhere that less than 8 percent of new year’s resolutions are successful.  Well, there are 365 days in a  year, after all, and sustaining impulsive new year resolutions is next to impossible.  In 2013, I started my weight loss journey.  It was a challenging journey and the way to beat the urge to give up was to indulge in cheat days.

READ MORE:  WHY WE NEED CHEAT DAYS

This year, I have set my intention to continue this journey to wellness by sticking to my juicing habit and daily asana practice.  In addition, I have set my mind to restart my decluttering project and make it a lifelong habit.  Perhaps, in this way, I will be able to declutter my mind, reduce stress further, and increase happiness.

But decluttering is very difficult.  It is so easy to accumulate things over the years.  Further, letting go of things is hard.  I have started decluttering last year and was able to successfully clear out a lot of things in our living room, kitchen, spare room, master bedroom, and attic.  Then…I stopped.  And things just found their way into our home once again.

Here’s my game plan to make this a sustainable project:

  1. Make time (not find time) for decluttering.  For this month, I have scheduled Saturday and Sunday mornings to do my decluttering.  I  vow to throw or give away at least a bagful of things each week.    I would have love to schedule at least 5 minutes a day to pick something to throw or give away, but knowing my busy schedule, my asana practice and my demanding toddler, I’m afraid I might not be able to fulfill this resolution.
  2. Plan which areas of the house to declutter.  Yesterday, I started with our master bedroom.  And hopefully, when I get my 2014 starbucks planner, I can list down my decluttering plans, together with my daily asana schedule.  (READ MORE:  KEEPING A WEIGHT LOSS JOURNAL)
  3. Always be ready with 3 bags:  one for things to give away, another to throw away, and the last for things to keep.  Hopefully, I can fill more the first two bags more.  As a rule of thumb, if you haven’t been using something for more than a year, it is time to let go (especially cosmetics since these things do expire, you know).

I know decluttering should be a lifelong habit because even as we dispose of things, new ones come in.  Hopefully, by the end of this year, I will be successful and finally fulfill my dream of converting our attic into my own yoga studio which hopefully will look like this:

Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

