5 Things to Consider When Choosing a Yoga Studio

I have been trying stick to my daily practice for almost a year now.  Mostly, it has been through downloaded videos (thanks to Esther Ekhart!), as well as yoga classes in the office gym and local gym.  As I progress with my practice, however, I wanted more attention given to my alignment.  While gym classes are really great, they lack attention to details and the necessary individual corrections.  This prompted me to look around and try out classes offered by yoga studios.

These are some of the things you need to consider when choosing the right yoga studio:

  1. Location, location, location.  This is very important, especially when you have a busy schedule.  This is particularly tricky if you schedule evening classes after work.  Alternatively, you may wish to do self-practice during the weekdays and head off to the studio during the weekend.  In this case, location may not be as critical as when you have tight schedule.
  2. Class Schedule.  This is important too, since you really need to sync your schedule with the class schedule!  In one studio I inquired, I love that they had yoga for toddlers and kids.  And the kids yoga schedule coincided with another adult class.  Great way to introduce yoga to your kids while you continue your own practice.
  3. Classes Offered.  Of course, you are interested in the type of classes the studio offers.  I personally like vinyasa flow and it is great that a lot of studios specialize in this type of yoga.  If you want to sweat a lot, you may consider Bikram or other hot flow yoga.
  4. Instructors.  Try to know your instructors – their qualifications, background, areas of expertise.  Studios usually have websites where they post instructors’ profile.
  5. Rates.  Finally, you would want to compare rates.  Each studio would have regular rates per class or provide special offers for purchasing 10, 15, 20 classes.  They would also have special rates for unlimited classes.  Packages vary, so it would be best to explore each package, according to your availability (e.g. if you plan to practice in the studio only during the weekends, unlimited package is not for you).

For now, I have already searched the yoga studios that I can visit on a regular basis.  It is just a matter of time before I try out all the studios on my list.  I will endeavor to post reviews as I try out their classes.  In the meantime, happy hunting!

 

3 thoughts on “5 Things to Consider When Choosing a Yoga Studio

  1. Pingback: Yoga Studio: Urban Ashram Manila | My Green Juice

  2. Pingback: Finding the Right Yoga Teacher | My Green Juice

  3. Pingback: Yoga Studio: Beyond Yoga | My Green Juice

Leave a Reply

