My Top Cheat Foods

This is probably one of the most difficult top favorite things I have yet to post.  I am a lover of junk food.  Yep, yep, yep, I am.  I love burgers, fries, cakes, chips, steak, and all sorts of junk out there.  So you can imagine how difficult it was to turn to healthier choices.  But don’t fret, I say to myself, there is cheat day.  Yay.

After more than six months, I am now compiling my top 4 favorite foods for cheat days.  Don’t get me wrong.  I have tons of favorites.  But those that got to the list are the ones that not only do I crave for, but gave me the most satisfaction.  In many instances, I crave for junk foods during the week.  But by the time cheat day arrives, I no longer long for them.  So they don’t get to the dining table.  On the other hand, there are a lot of food that I really, really crave for until the end of the week.  But by the time I consume them, the experience is anticlimactic.  They didn’t satisfy.  The following made it to my list because they have consistently brought home the bacon.  They are my comfort food.

155458

4.  Hot Piknik.  I love the spicy tanginess of this snack.  Great to munch on while I log on to Facebook, read articles, and generally act like a teenager doing nothing productive in the internet.  This snack does not give you the “once you pop you can’t stop” feeling; you would like to savor each bite, sipping the spicy goodness out of the fries.  After one can,  I feel satisfied and my craving is abated.  Total calories:  245 per 42 g.  Not bad compared to other potato crisps.

mcdo13.  Double Hot Choco and Caramel Fudge Sundae from McDonald’s.  I have no sweet tooth.  In fact, my hubby craves sweets (chocolates, ice cream, cakes, etc.) more than I do.  But something about McDonald’s hot fudge sundaes simply brings happy childhood memories and the warm, fuzzy feeling that accompany them.  Each time that smooth, creamy fudge touches my tongue, I can’t stop but close my eyes and sigh with bliss.  Total Calories:   regular hot fudge is at 330 calories, so I guess, the double fudge is close to a whopping 660 calories.  Whoa!  But so worth it especially when I am feeling the blues.

2.  Starbucks Venti Latte with Breve (half whole milk, half cream).  I am a coffee lover.  I cannot start a day right without one.  My all-time favorite drink is the Starbucks latte.  Not an ordinary latte, mind you.  It has to be with breve, not the ordinary steamed milk.  I love the frothy, smooth, creamy taste of cafe latte with breve.   l love the way the strong taste of espresso blends well with the creamy sweetness of the breve.  And Starbucks makes the perfect cup. But because of its high fat, high calorie value, I had to cut it back.   So imagine how I feel when I get to have one during my cheat day.  Ahhh, heaven, except for the calories: 710  for 20 oz.   Yikes!

Cafe Latte with Breve

1.  This one tops the list in terms of number of times craved and satisfaction guaranteed, especially after a great workout.  Need I say more?

McDonald’s Quarter Pounder with Cheese:  510 Calories

Regular Fries:  380 calories

Coke:  Zero

 

Related Articles:

Why We Need Cheat Days (mygreenjuice.wordpress.com)

5 Steps to Cut Down Calories Safely and Effectively (mygreenjuice.wordpress.com)

2 thoughts on “My Top Cheat Foods

  1. Pingback: Why Rest Days are as Important as Cheat Days | My Green Juice

  2. Pingback: Pregnancy Weight Gain: Being Mindful with My Diet | My Green Juice

Leave a Reply

