Top 3 Favorite Yoga Poses

I have a lot of “favorite” yoga poses, so finding the top 3 is kinda difficult.  Further, it depends on my mood and the condition of my body at the time of my practice.  For now, the following are my top 3 favorite poses:

3. Warrior 3

As with any warrior pose, this is a powerful asana.  Just looking at a it, you can already feel the strength required to maintain this pose.  Further, high degree of focus and balance are necessary to stay in this pose. Breathing deeply helps.

Read Relearning breathing:  Using Ujjayi Breath in Yoga

2.  Four-limbed staff pose

I wouldn’t have thought that this will reach  the top 3 of my list.   This is one of the most challenging foundation poses for me because when I started yoga, I had very weak arms and chest.  I couldn’t  do this pose without collapsing on my belly.  I could not even do the modified version properly (with knees down).  Even now, I still struggle with this full pose, particularly when I get tired from a strong vinyasa.  Perhaps precisely because this is a difficult pose for me, I find fulfillment in doing it properly.  For me, this pose represents strength and perseverance.

Read:  Top 3 Poses for Opening the Shoulders

1.  Downward-facing dog and Child’s Pose (Tie)

My favorite style of yoga is Vinyasa and downward dog and child’s poses are great for resting in between active sequences.  Although downward-facing dog is an active pose in itself, it provides an opportunity for catching one’s breath  after a particularly vigorous flow.  Child’s pose is my pose of choice whenever I feel I cannot continue a particular sequence or if a pose is too difficult for me.  This is my favorite pose because it represents self-acceptance and helps me from getting injured.  Never mind if the student next to me is in a head stand or an advanced arm balance while I resort to child’s pose.  What is important is that I listen to my body and understand what it needs.

Read: How to Avoid Injury:  Listen to Your Body

How about  you, what is your favorite yoga pose?  Please vote!

5 thoughts on “Top 3 Favorite Yoga Poses

  1. Pingback: Warrior II | My Green Juice

  2. Pingback: Yoga Pose for the Month: Crow Pose | My Green Juice

  3. Pingback: Four Limbed Staff Pose | My Green Juice

  4. Pingback: Warrior III | My Green Juice

  5. Pingback: Warrior III | Travel Tales of a Yogini

Leave a Reply

